ODOT Announces the OTP2 Grant for Transit Regionalization

Nov 05, 2019

DSC_0013 edit

The Ohio Department of Transportation Office of Transit announced at Eastgate’s October 28, 2019 General Policy Meeting the Ohio Transit Partnership Program (OTP2) Grant Awards for the Regionalization of transit services for Mahoning and Trumbull County. Charles Dyer, administrator for the Ohio Department of Transportation was the feature speaker at the meeting and the state made the first announcement on grant awards under the state OTP2 grant program.

With the support of Eastgate, the City of Warren, Trumbull County officials, WRTA, and ODOT, the urbanized area is moving forward to regionalize mass transit in the two counties. ODOT awarded over 1.8 million in state funding to help provide regional fixed route and paratransit services, along with on-demand transit services for Trumbull County. Other components of the OTP2 award will address transportation options for job access and work development, My Baby‘s 1st Coalition, infant mortality, as well as social agencies working with opioid addiction transportation.

Warren Mayor Doug Franklin and local officials spoke with one voice to establish transit regionalization without boundaries in Mahoning and Trumbull Counties.